13. Esteemers

I know that I should’ve watched Daria before, but when Daria first came up, I was a little girl and I was quite hard to impress with cartoons which I do not relate to. Daria Morgendorffer is a very introverted girl in the MTv Television series called, Daria. I had a lot of fun learning about the history of how Daria was created. Turns out, Daria is just a female character from another MTv series called Beavis and Butthead. And then it hit me. I know why I wasn’t impressed with Daria or any MTv series at all, I remember watching the Beavis and Butthead movie and I thought that it was completely stupid. Not as clever as Dumb and Dumber. But hey, I was a little girl. What was I supposed to know?

dariabb2

With Daria making her first TV appearance on Beavis and Butthead, MTv thought that they need a strong female character in a show, thus making Daria. The first episode, Esteemers is in fact my favorite of all. Other episodes are good as well but this episode is where I fell in love with Daria and I honestly think that she is my spirit animal. On this pilot, it already explained who Daria is and it already explained her attitude and who she is in a big crowd. Hands down to MTv because this taught everyone that being different actually helps you stand out in a crowd where everyone is the same.

mgid-ao-image-mtv-com-70654

As a little girl, I developed a low self esteem from being bullied by the popular girls in school. This had been a struggle for me all throughout high school. But in college, things went a little different. I don’t know, maybe because people in college were older and more mature, but I somehow developed an attitude resembling to Daria’s. I didn’t actually cared to what people would tell me. I would wear all black (my style is actually the same as Jane Lane and I own the exact pair of shorts and tights Jane wears in the TV Series, I had them before I watched this show) and not give a damn if people would look at me or laugh because it’s 10,000 degrees outside and I’m there wearing black. True story. Oh, and My self esteem? It’s not low anymore. I actually feel pity to everyone who’s trying hard to fit in. Like what Daria said, “I don’t have low self esteem, I have low self esteem for the people around me.” And right after she said that line, I fell in love. I knew at that moment that she is my spirit animal. And whenever a scene ends, there is this background music singing La La La La La and a cool guitar riff. I wish that existed in my life too whenever a scene in my life ends.

tumblr_ll82uw924v1qbrxvno1_1280

There is a life lesson here, don’t try too hard to fit in. You’d change into a person who’s not you. As much as possible, love yourself. Even if other people laughs at how you dress or picks on how you look like. You’re flawed in a perfect way. Like snowflakes, no one is the same. Everyone is unique at their own terms and trying so hard to be someone you’re not or copying someone who isn’t you doesn’t make you unique at all. As Justin Bieber would say, you should go and love yourself. I don’t know the whole lyrics to the song, my neighbor just play it very often. But you get the point. Love yourself.

 

Leave a Reply

